Jesus said that any believer can do what He did

Verily, verily, I say unto you, he that believes on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever you shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you shall ask anything in my name, I will do it. John 14:12-14

It’s interesting to note here that the promise of asking for anything in Jesus name is given within the context of following Jesus and doing the same works as He did. It is to ask the Father to do the same supernatural healing and deliverance which Jesus did. These are the “same works” of which He is referring to.

Also, interesting that this promise that we can do what Jesus did is given to he that believes on Jesus. There is absolutely no differentiation or distinction, the only qualifier is that the person believes.

(Thanks to Billy Witt for reminding me of this)

4 Responses to “Jesus said that any believer can do what He did”

  1. ian vincent Says:

    Brother Billy Witt makes some excellent points here from the Word of God:

    https://www.facebook.com/billy.witt.92?fref=ts

  2. milind Says:

    How would you define ‘believes’? Is it something more than a mental assurance or is it deep inside the heart. Is there any response involved when one believes?
    The reason I ask this is – I am yet to witness a miraculous event in my life as recorded in the scripture like what Jesus did in spite of being in the faith for so many years. Is it possible that I am missing something? or ‘greater things’ refer to a spiritual rather than physical ones?

  3. ian vincent Says:

    Let me put it this way, have you ever asked God for something (prayed in faith) and He answered and gave it?

    We have asked God to heal (in Jesus name) and He has answered too many times to keep any kind of record of it.

    Of course, many times His answer was No, but many times it was Yes.

    I like what Billy Witt says in the video: If you are preaching the gospel do you give up preaching just bcos not all the people you to preach to are instantly converted? No. So then we should not give up praying for the sick just bcos not all are instantly healed.

    Faith is always pin-point specific as to what it is we believe.

  4. ian vincent Says:

    I just want to clarify that in saying we have had many answers to prayer i just wanted to state that this is the experience of so many disciples of Jesus – they simply ask the Father to heal in Jesus name and He heals. And if anyone takes issue with such simple and childlike faith as this then they have a problem with God.

    Cessasionism is such a poison bcos it robs people of such simple, childlike faith and sows the seeds of doubt and double-mindedness.

    My take on this text:

    Verily, verily, I say unto you, he that believes on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever you shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you shall ask anything in my name, I will do it. John 14:12-14

    The “same works” refers to the general nature of the works Jesus did: to deliver the oppressed and set captives free.

    The “greater works” speaks of the advent of The Church, the body of Christ and the works of the Holy Spirit in His people. And our Lord said it is better for us that He go away and send the Holy Spirit, as that way the works will be “greater” as in multiplied.

    Jesus surely did not mean there are greater miracles than the raising of Lazarus etc.

Leave a Reply

