Hypnotized at IHOP

13 Responses to “Hypnotized at IHOP”

  1. Sean Scott Says:

    wow..that’s pretty crazy. Ihops not the only one like this. There are countless churches like thit now. Have you heard of Calvary Chapel? They are one of the largest churches in the city I live in. I think something like 11,000 people attend their weekend services. Here’s a video from their “Skate Church”

    Interesting thing is that I went to a Calvary Church years ago and it was nothing like this. This downward trend seems to be everywhere.

  2. ian vincent Says:

    Here is the type of music produced by Chuck Smith and Calvary Chapel (Maranatha Singers) years ago:

    I don’t like when people say, “Jesus hold me close to you” … etc.. As if raising a doubt concerning His promises, that just maybe He won’t do what He said He would? “Jesus, don’t let me go!” …. as if there were a chance He might let us go, and therefore we are to ask Him not to let us go??…

    Maybe this small root of unbelief led to a gradual degeneration, to what we see now at “Skate Church” ?

  3. ian vincent Says:

    Addressing the hypnotic song at IHOP:

    “Listen to the rhythm of heaven”

    This is Hinduism dressed up in Christianese.

    What “rhythm of heaven”? God is a Person. He is not a force that He would have a “rhythm” which you could hear or feel.

    This is an occultic, new-age philosophy which has entered evangelical Christianity via Catholicism and thru the liberal “mystics” and the Emergent movement : “contemplative/centering prayer” , “spiritual formation” etc.. ……which substitutes an immediate, personal relationship with Jesus Christ, with tapping into the divine vibrations etc.. (That’s where “Good vibes” came from – feel the “divine” vibrations emanating from the “supreme power” or whatever.)

    This is new-age hoodoo. It is a gateway to the demonic.
    .
    .
    .

    “I wanna hear your heartbeat”

    Why? And what would you do if you DID hear His heartbeat? Would it change your life?

    “I wanna” ………… there we go. That’s where it fails. “I wanna….” It’s all about you, which is not worship at all.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    So, in this song there are two elements:

    a) The hypnotic rhythm designed to put people into a trance

    b) False words spoken as a “mantra” – the wrong message.

  4. Al Nelson Says:

    Thanks for sharing the videos Ian and Sean. Last week I was on craigslist. Under the section where musicians can meet up with other musicians I found a listing from a man claiming to be a Christian. He said he found Christ in prison 15 years ago. Now he’s 44 works at a tattoo shop and writes heavy metal music for Jesus. I couldn’t resist e-mailing this person because, honestly, I just don’t see Jesus head banging and getting inked. As far as the videos, most folks won’t see anything wrong with the music since they are accustomed to this same style being presented in the world. No holiness is taught and eyes seem to be shut tight to the point of resistance in walking in His light.

  5. ian vincent Says:

    Bro, you certainly did the right thing by reaching out to this man. I pray that God will bring His servants across his path to bring him the message of the REAL Jesus of the Bible.

    His life is like that of a plane that got hijacked and taken in the wrong direction. Time to throw the hijackers out.
    .
    .
    .
    .

    Addressing the hypnotic song at IHOP:

    “Listen to the rhythm of heaven”

    This is Hinduism dressed up in Christianese.

    What “rhythm of heaven”? God is a Person. He is not a force that He would have a “rhythm” which you could hear or feel.

    This is an occultic, new-age philosophy which has entered evangelical Christianity via Catholicism and thru the liberal “mystics” and the Emergent movement : “contemplative/centering prayer” , “spiritual formation” etc.. …..which substitutes an immediate, personal relationship with Jesus Christ, with tapping into the divine vibrations etc.. (That’s where “Good vibes” came from – feel the “divine” vibrations. emanating from the “supreme power” or whatever.)

    This is new age hoodoo. It is a gateway to the demonic.

    In a nutshell, God is a Person, He is not a force.

    If He were a force, then these occultic methodologies would be correct in their attempts to TAP INTO that force. They would be right in trying to find the technique or secret into tapping into God (and this is a common error that unites all religions).

    Only true disciples of Jesus are FREE from this garbage. They have a living, personal, ever-present, constant, Christ indwelling and abiding RELATIONSHIP to the risen LORD Jesus Christ by the constant power of the Holy Spirit.

    Therefore they can NEVER consent to the hocus-pocus.

  6. fleebabylon Says:

    yikes!

  7. Braden Says:

    Ian, Sean, Al – amen to all. That video from IHOP was difficult to watch & listen to. I actually really liked the first Misty Edwards song I heard, which was much more worshipful, but something bothered me about it: the incredible amount of repetition. This is dangerous stuff. I wrote about it in a blog (Satan is Infiltrating Christian Worship), and here’s the pertinent excerpt:

    ———–

    “Vain Repetitions” & the Occult

    One of the most dangerous elements that worldly influence has brought into church music is “vain repetitions” (Matthew 6:7). Some Christian worship artists are writing songs these days that are extremely repetitive. The most prominent example of music like this, of which I am aware, is coming out of the International House of Prayer in Kansas City, Missouri. This type of music is very dangerous, because as I hinted at above when mentioning Eastern meditation, repetitious singing or chanting is a practice that can put people in a trance. This practice is used in the occult to contact the dead (demons), participate in astral projection, and all manner of other evil practices which are forbidden by scripture.

    One frightening thing to keep in mind is that it really doesn’t matter what is being repeated. It could be something as innocent as “Jesus, I love you.” If repeated countless times, the words become meaningless to the human brain, the mind becomes blank and empty, and at some point a “crossing over” into the spirit world can occur. And remember, even if you’re singing the name “Jesus,” if it’s not the Jesus of the Bible, then it’s not God! Since people have already been fooled into judging whether God is moving by their feelings instead of by worshiping in spirit and in truth (in perfect alignment with the Word of God – John 4:23-24), they wrongly interpret the enjoyable feelings they experience in a “worship trance” as being a move of the Holy Spirit! Truly, they are in enemy territory and don’t even realize it.

    ———–

    Blessings to you all. Let’s keep exposing the false and exalting the truth.

  8. ian vincent Says:

    Thanks for that, brother, i agree.

    If my spirit doesn’t witness with any song, i don’t sing it. And the songs which my spirit rejoices in are, either, taken directly from Scripture, or are paraphrases of Scripture truth.

    Of course, the proponents of repetitious songs will say that in heaven the living creatures sing, Holy, Holy Holy, continuously.

    BUT the creatures in heaven are not singing continuously as a means to try and “touch” God thru their own efforts. And that’s the problem with repetitious worship down here on earth, that people are doing it bcos they think that they can get closer to God thru repetitive prayers or songs, as Jesus said the heathen do.

  9. fleebabylon Says:

    Braden said: “I actually really liked the first Misty Edwards song I heard”

    I had no idea this video was of her, is that correct? My wife has a CD with some of her songs that was given to her a while back.

    Thanks for mentioning this brother.

  10. ian vincent Says:


    .
    .
    .
    .

    And when you pray, you shall not be as the hypocrites are: for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and in the corners of the streets, that they may be seen of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward. But you, when you pray, enter into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in secret; and your Father who sees in secret shall reward you openly. But when you pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking. Be not therefore like them: for your Father knows what things you have need of, before you ask him.
    (Mat 6:5-8)

    .
    .
    .
    Personal transactions between you and God are HOLY, meaning, they are exclusively between you and God and no one else.

    .
    .
    .
    Like the marriage covenant is HOLY and exclusive.
    .
    .
    .
    You wouldn’t say intimate or private things, which are only for the ears of your spouse, to a public meeting.

    .
    .
    .
    .
    Just consider what our LORD Jesus was saying about prayer…..

    .
    .
    .
    Corporate (public) prayer is never to be about your personal issues with God, for you should have addressed those issues with Him in private.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    …………………………………………………………….

    Former IHOP Member Explains Why IHOP (International House of Prayer) Is A Cult

    http://solasisters.blogspot.com/2011/06/former-ihop-member-explains-why-ihop.html?spref=fb

    Once outside of the IHOP environment, they are terrified and overwhelmed by the “real” world and don’t know how to function in it when they’ve been in an intensive internship environment. There is a degree of re-acclimating to normal life that feels like an IHOP detox afterward. It’s a severe emotional drop because the hyped up services and conferences that were your manna are now gone and when there is no prayer room, your life in God feels empty and lifeless.

    Many simply don’t know how to engage with God in a real day-to-day basis once they’ve left.

    I experienced this and heard the exact same thing from a handful of my friends after they left IHOP and the internship.

    At that point when disillusionment sets in, I know many interns that walked away from God completely upon leaving the internship and went back into lifestyles worse than the ones they left when they came to IHOP originally.

    I understand exactly what this sister is describing, and the problem she is identifying, and it is ubiquitous in modern mega churches.

  11. ian vincent Says:

    Kara says:
    June 22, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    My Name is Kara and I too was hoodwinked by IHOP for over 6 years. I lived and breathed that place, I believed in the foundation of it and was lied to over and over again by the leadership. I saw many people come and go through that time but many that stayed year after year like myself and I would say to myself rthis must be okay it must be a good thing since so many talented people are here.

    But I was wrong. So wrong and because I did not seek and search and diligently do my research a veil was over my eyes for years and no one could tell me otherwise. Some of my friends left this place and found the truth of the scriptures but many others stayed but yet I did not get it maybe because deep inside I did not want to know the truth.

    I wanted to believe I could not be fooled or deceived I knew too much word, I had too much of a great realtionship with Jesus to be hoodwinked. But I was and I finally see this now.

    What took me seeing it, I really can’t say one thing, maybe it was when they fired someone in my department at IHOP when she was questioning money funds,

    maybe it was all the people that got sick through fasting so much and then having to be hospitalized and then having David Sliker state “Oh but we don’t force people to fast”.

    Or maybe it was when I started to work for the city of Jackson and noticed how many homes were owned by Diane and Mike Bickle that had no loans on them and how Mike Bickle has many different addresses and he isn’t living as much as a fasted lifestyle as he preaches.

    or maybe it was when I went to one session near the Prayer Room that did soaking sessions and the woman was sharing how she use to be part of IHOP and then found the truth behind herself being lied to and hoodwinked and finding the deeper love of the Father through the time she actually was as IHOP.

    Or maybe it was when I noticed one day how my so called IHOP friends were really only aquantances and not REAL friends because IHOP really doesn’t have a real community and does not know how to love one another as the bible teaches.

    I can’t tell you it was one thing or another I can only tell you it was a combination of things and through that combination of things, I have found the road of truth and the path to my glorious Father and have left this cult to seek and live the life Jesus died to give me.

    I tell anyone in this cult or thinking of it…do your research, the facts are clear and they are all within your reach Father God has allowed it be clear, but you must be willing to seek it in order to find it. Seek and you shall find, don’t be ignorant..and don’t just continue in the lies just because you think it is from the Lord, it is not! Let Him (TRUTH) show you. Just seek!

    Kara says:
    June 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    @Ian, yes since leaving I have started to really put things into place and have been connected with a house church that is in the truth of the Word. I am slowly realizing my destiny with the Father and all we have because of Jesus, BUT I will not lie it has been difficult I live in the midst of what is called here the IHOP bubble. I see them all the time in the street or when I go to the store and I can’t even come to wave yet or say hello, to be honest I don’t even think any of them notice.

    They have this look about them as if they are in a fog it is weird I know I was like that as well as one time.

    Maybe oneday I will have the compassion to evangelize them but it is so hard when most don’t want the truth you need to have to want it and seek it. I will say this being part of Jackson County and working now for the City I have access to so much information and if people only really knew how wealthy Dianne and Mike Bickle are and how much they continue to lie to their flock …….the sheep would be mighty surprised.
    @everyone else….thank you…I know this is a new journey for me but I am up for the freedom walk. blessings in HIM.

    http://slaughteringthesheep.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/former-member-says-ihop-is-a-cult/

  12. Braden Says:

    For those who don’t know, Misty is the one playing the keyboard.

    I find it ironic that Mike Bickle is shouting about “another Jesus” and a false gospel while his worship team leads his flock in Hindu practices. Insane world, it is. A sure sign of the end.

    Blessings to those people who have “come out of her, my people.” Rejoice in your sufferings for Christ and rejoice in any persecution they may give you, for Christ said to do this.

  13. Evangelical Leaders & Ecumenism – Pt.2 | Cristo La Verdad Says:

    […] Contemplative Books. Check Fire Within. Problems with their teachings by Pastor Gruen. Worship at IHOP. A testimony. IHOP & NAR. Is IHOP a […]

Leave a comment